Sat. Feb 4th, 2023

The African American Movie Critics Affiliation (AAFCA) revealed the winners of the 14th annual AAFCA Awards on Monday.

The Lady King, Until, Black Panther: Wakanda Without end and Glass Onion: A Knives Out Thriller every scored two AAFCA Awards: The Lady King received finest image and finest director for Gina Prince-Bythewood, Until received finest actress for Danielle Deadwyler and the Rising Face award for Jalyn Corridor, Wakanda Without end received finest supporting actress for Angela Bassett and finest track for Rihanna’s “Raise Me Up” and Glass Onion received finest writing for Rian Johnson and finest ensemble.

Brian Tyree Henry received the perfect supporting actor award for his function in Causeway and Jeremy Pope received finest actor for The Inspection, whereas finest animated characteristic went to Wendell & Wild and finest worldwide characteristic went to Saint Omer.

Winners, in addition to particular honorees, shall be honored on the 14th annual AAFCA Awards on March 1 on the Beverly Wilshire, a 4 Seasons Resort, in Beverly Hills, California.

 “AAFCA is deeply honored to acknowledge a number of the most charming movies and performances of the yr,” says AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson. “These thought-provoking tales of power, dedication and braveness raise us and entertain us. It’s an honor to acknowledge the unimaginable, visionary work each in entrance of and behind the digicam of this yr’s AAFCA Award winners.”

See beneath for the total record of winners.

Greatest Image: The Lady King

Greatest Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood (The Lady King)

Greatest Actor: Jeremy Pope (The Inspection)

Greatest Actress: Danielle Deadwyler (Until)

Greatest Supporting Actor: Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Greatest Supporting Actress: Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Without end)

Rising Face: Jalyn Corridor (Until & Bruiser)

Rising Filmmaker: Carey Williams (Emergency)

Greatest Impartial Characteristic: Nanny

Greatest Animated Characteristic: Wendell & Wild

Greatest Documentary: Sidney

Greatest Ensemble: Glass Onion: A Knives Out Thriller

Greatest Writing: Rian Johnson (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Thriller)

Greatest Worldwide Characteristic: Saint Omer

Greatest Track: “Raise Me Up” (Black Panther: Wakanda Without end)

Greatest Stay Motion Brief: We Cry Collectively

Greatest Animated Brief: New Moon


Affect Award: Until

The Innovator Award: Composer, Michael Abels (Nope)

Constructing Change Award, offered by Lowes: Manufacturing Designer, Hannah Beachler (Black Panther: Wakanda Without end)

The Beacon Award: Antoine Fuqua and Will Smith (Emancipation)

The Ashley Boone Award: Producer, Nate Moore (Black Panther: Wakanda Without end)

By Admin

Leave a Reply