Tue. Mar 28th, 2023

Sqürl, Jim Jarmusch’s band with Carter Logan, have introduced their debut LP, Silver Haze, with a video for his or her new track “Berlin ’87.” Silver Haze options collaborations with Charlotte Gainsbourg, Anika, and Marc Ribot; it’s due out Might 5 through Sacred Bones. Try the complete tracklist and the video for “Berlin ‘87”—directed by Jem Cohen—beneath.

The brand new track and its video characteristic decades-old music and pictures. “Jim created the essential guitar tracks first in his residence studio, with reminiscences of dwelling in Berlin in 1987 floating round him,” the band stated in an announcement. “The tracks have been then Sqürlized by Carter & Randall at Round Break.”

Of the video, Jem Cohen added:

Roaming Central and Japanese Europe quickly after the autumn of the Berlin Wall, backpack full of Tremendous 8 cameras, I used to be deeply moved by the panorama. I couldn’t have guessed among the footage would floor over a quarter-century later in a movie for Jim and Carter’s band. They work exhausting to forge their expansive sound, with its indomitable beat and secret harmonics. Glad I had that backpack, and to be of service.

Jarmusch and Logan first collaborated on the rating for Jarmusch’s 2009 movie, The Limits of Management. They’ve since shared a number of EPs, and, in 2020, they shared Some Music for Robby Müller the rating to Claire Pijman’s 2018 documentary concerning the titular Dutch cinematographer.

All merchandise featured on Pitchfork are independently chosen by our editors. Nonetheless, once you purchase one thing by means of our retail hyperlinks, we might earn an affiliate fee.

Silver Haze:

01 Sqürl: “Berlin ’87”
02 Sqürl: “The Finish of the World”
03 Sqürl / Marc Ribot: “Backyard of Glass Flowers”
04 Sqürl / Anika: “She Don’t Wanna Discuss About It”
05 Sqürl / Marc Ribot: “Il Deserto Rosso”
06 Sqürl / Charlotte Gainsbourg: “John Ashbery Takes a Stroll”
07 Sqürl: “Queen Elizabeth”
08 Sqürl: “Silver Haze”

By Admin

Leave a Reply