Wed. Nov 30th, 2022

AVONDALE, Ariz. – Zane Smith, the title runner-up the previous two years, charged to the lead on an extra time restart and held off reigning collection champion Ben Rhodes to win Friday’s Tenting World Truck Collection race and declare the collection crown at Phoenix Raceway.

“Third time is a appeal,” the 23-year-old Zane Smith instructed FS1 after his fourth win of the season.

“For therefore lengthy I’ve wished this second.”

Rhodes completed second. Chandler Smith positioned third. Ty Majeski was twentieth after crashing within the remaining laps.

MORE: Phoenix Truck race resultsMORE: Truck Collection factors after Phoenix

The race modified when Hailie Deegan introduced out the warning for a crash with 16 laps to go. That despatched the sector to pit highway. Zane Smith led however was tenth after his pit cease. Two vehicles didn’t pit and 4 vehicles took solely two tires, together with Rhodes.

The race went to extra time when Majeski crashed whereas battling Zane Smith for second place 4 laps from the scheduled distance. Majeski was on the left rear of Zane Smith’s truck however misplaced management and slid throughout the observe on the backstretch and hit the within SAFER barrier.

Zane Smith began on the within of the second row for the ultimate restart and slipped previous Rhodes. Coming to the checkered flag, Rhodes bumped Zane Smith however couldn’t transfer him.

“That was simply the story of two vs. 4 (tires),” stated Rhodes, who favored the pit name to take solely two tires and acquire observe place. “I couldn’t get the bounce I wanted on the inexperienced. I didn’t have the grip… It was extraordinarily exhausting to carry them off.”

Stage 1 winner: Zane Smith

Stage 2 winner: Zane Smith

Who had a great race: Kaden Honeycutt, making his ninth collection begin, completed a career-high ninth. … Tanner Grey completed eighth, solely his second prime 10 within the final 13 races. John Hunter Nemechek‘s fourth-place end snapped a streak of three consecutive races and not using a prime 10.

Who had a foul race: Hailie Deegan’s late crash left her with a Thirty first-place end. It’s the seventh time within the final eight races she has failed to attain a prime 10. … Christian Eckes completed thirtieth, snapping a streak of 5 consecutive top-10 finishes.

Subsequent: The season is finished. The collection resumes Feb. 17, 2023 at Daytona Worldwide Speedway.

By Admin

Leave a Reply