Mon. Feb 6th, 2023

Story Hyperlinks
CHAPEL HILL, N.C. (UNC Athletic Communications)  – For the third time in her profession, North Carolina’s Erin Matson has been chosen because the winner of the Honda Sport Award for Area Hockey, as introduced Tuesday by Chris Voelz, Govt Director of the Collegiate Ladies Sports activities Awards (CWSA).

Matson, who additionally gained in 2019 and 2020, is simply the second area hockey participant ever to win area hockey’s Honda Award thrice. The primary to take action was not too long ago retired UNC coach Karen Shelton when she was a participant at West Chester.

The Atlantic Coast Convention has now claimed two of the three NCAA Division I Honda Sport Awards introduced thus far this season. NC State’s Kaitlyn Tuohy was named the recipient of the Honda Sport Award for Cross Nation final month after main the Wolfpack to the NCAA title by taking the gold medal on the nationwide finals.


In 2022, her fifth season as a Tar Heel, Matson led Carolina to a 21-0 season, profitable this system’s tenth NCAA Championship and twenty fifth Atlantic Coast Convention Championship.  


“It is actually exhausting to place into phrases how proud I’m of Erin and the wonderful profession she had at UNC,” stated Shelton, who not too long ago introduced her retirement after 42 seasons. “To win the Honda Sport Award for a 3rd time is an exceptional achievement and speaks to her exhausting work and perseverance, along with her excellent expertise and talent. It was actually particular to observe her evolve over her 5 years in Chapel Hill – she is a greater and extra full participant now than she was when she gained the Honda Award as a sophomore.”


The Honda Sport Award has been introduced yearly by the CWSA for the previous 47 years to the highest ladies athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports activities and signifies “the perfect of the perfect in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the game award turns into a finalist for the Collegiate Girl Athlete of the Yr and the celebrated 2023 Honda Cup, which might be introduced on a stay telecast on CBS Sports activities Community in June.

Matson was chosen by a vote of directors from over 1,000 NCAA member faculties.


Different finalists for this yr’s area hockey honor have been Bente Baekers (Northwestern), Sophia Gladieux (Penn State) and Beth Yeager (Princeton). 


Matson’s honor is the eighth by a Tar Heel, following Leslie Lyness (1989), Cindy Werley (1996 and 1997), Rachel Dawson (2007), Ashley Hoffman (2018) and her personal honors in 2019 and 2020.


Throughout her profession, she was a four-time finalist for the award, yearly besides her freshman season, when Hoffman was the workforce’s nominee and eventual winner.


Matson, a current graduate from Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, is a three-time Honda Sport Award winner for area hockey (2019, 2020, 2023) and a four-time finalist. The 2022 NCAA Event MVP after scoring the game-winning purpose within the championship recreation, Matson was a first-team All-America choice for the fifth time in her profession. She additionally earned Nationwide Participant of the Yr honors from the NFHCA and Bolster Area Hockey.


A five-time ACC Offensive Participant of the Yr and a five-time All-ACC First-Crew honoree, she led UNC and the nation in scoring in the course of the season with 28 targets and 10 assists and is the all-time factors and targets chief in Atlantic Coast Convention historical past. Throughout the postseason, she grew to become the all-time chief in profession factors and targets in NCAA Event historical past.


Matson graduated from UNC in December with a level in PR & Promoting and a minor in Teaching Schooling. She is a three-time member of the NFHCA Nationwide Educational squad and has been named to the ACC All-Educational Crew 4 instances. She was the 2021 ACC Co-Scholar Athlete of the Yr.


“Receiving this award once more is one other byproduct of how exhausting the workforce and I labored this previous yr and the way badly we wished to undoubtedly be the perfect,” Matson stated. “I am pleased with this workforce and our teaching workers for making it potential. And there is no different College that deserves it extra. This award is tremendous significant to me, and I am fortunate to have a tremendous program and faculty to share it with.”

By Admin

Leave a Reply